

# UTDPP1020 Commencement Committee

## **Policy Statement**

The Commencement Committee is a University-wide Standing Committee appointed by the President not reporting to the Academic Senate, The University of Texas at Dallas.

The Committee is responsible for the direction and conduct of the University's commencement activities and graduation ceremonies and for recommending to the President modifications to the procedures and practices followed for these activities.

The Committee shall be composed of at least two members of the faculty and two student representatives, including the President of the Student Government. Ex officio, non-voting, members shall be those who hold the following positions: Speaker of the Faculty, Dean of Graduate Studies, Dean of Undergraduate Education, Chief of Police, Associate Vice President for Facilities Management, University Registrar, Dean of Students, Director of University Events, representative from the office of auxiliary Services, representative from the Office of Communications, Office of the President Event Planner, a representative from Media Services and a representative from Development and Alumni Relations. The Chief Academic Officer, or designee, serves as the Responsible University Official.

The term of office for committee members shall be three years, effective September 1 to August 31, and members may be reappointed by the President for additional terms. If for any reason a Committee member resigns, the President shall appoint another individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term.

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Committee shall be appointed by the President annually.

### **RESPONSIBLE PARTY**

### LAST REVIEWED

#### •

#### HISTORY

- Revised: 1985-01-14
- Revised: 1985-05-13
- Revised: 1987-09-01
- Revised: 1988-09-01
- Revised: 1990-05-01
- Revised: 1990-09-01
- Revised: 1995-04-04
- Revised: 2010-02-16
- Editorial Amendments: 1998-02-02
- Editorial Amendments: 2000-09-01
- Editorial Amendments: 2002-11-22
- Editorial Amendments: 2006-04-18
- Editorial Amendments: 2007-09-19
- Revised: 2014-11-12
- Editorial Amendments: 2016-11-11
- Revised: 2018-11-20
- Editorial Amendments: 2018-12-05