## UTDPP1032 Radiation Safety Committee

# **Policy Statement**

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) is a University-wide, Standing Committee appointed by the President to assure the safe use of any hazardous radiations in the University. The Committee provides technical expertise and oversight of University operations involving these radiations to protect personnel, students, and the public from injury and to comply with requirements of the law and the Texas Department of State Health Services regulations.

The Committee shall have at least three faculty members, suited by education and experience to deal with radiation questions, who are appointed from the membership of the General Faculty (as defined in Faculty Governance – <u>UTDPP1088</u> of The University of Texas at Dallas <u>Handbook of Operating Procedures</u>). The individual approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services as the University's Radiation Safety Officer, who may either be one of these faculty members or an additional member from the University staff, will serve as Chair. The University Environmental Health and Safety Director and the Vice President for Research serve as ex officio members. The Vice President for Administration serves as the Responsible University Official (RUO). Administrative clerical support is provided to facilitate Committee functions and the specific functions of the University's Radiation Safety Officer by assisting with secretarial services and maintenance of central records.

The Committee's charge is to:

- 1. Assist the Radiation Safety Officer in overseeing all use of radiation that poses a hazard because of its ionizing, photochemical, or thermal action as well as the possession, handling and storage of sources and source materials, and of any special nuclear materials in quantities not sufficient to form a critical mass. The Committee will recommend policies, procedures and practices it considers advisable for safely working with these materials and devices to the University Safety and Security Council and to the President. The Committee will also see to the updating, as necessary, of this approved relevant safety material.
- 2. 2. Assure that the University's use of ionizing radiations is in compliance with 25 Texas

Administrative Code Chapter 289 Radiation Control in all respects, including licensing and registration, purchase, shipment, training, use, monitoring, disposal and transfer of radiation sources or source materials and radiation producing machinery, and maintenance of adequate records. The Committee will recommend qualified persons individually for inclusion in the University's license to use ionizing radiation.

- 3. Recommend a Radiation Safety Manual for approval by the Texas Department of State Health Services and subsequent issue by the University, recommending timely revisions to keep its provisions appropriate for the University's use of radiations.
- 4. Respond to any safety issues involving the use of radiation which may be communicated to the Committee by the University Safety and Security Council or by academic or administrative authorities.
- 5. Perform all functions required of an RSC by statutes and regulations. Should the RSC duties under applicable statutes and regulations conflict with any RSC duties outlined in this Policy Memorandum, then such statutes and regulations will control.

The Committee may, without transferring its own primary responsibilities, utilize technically skilled members of the faculty and staff to assist its work in ways it requests, or to maintain better oversight of different radiation uses in specific areas of the University.

The Committee will meet annually in September to organize and to determine a meeting schedule that includes at least one meeting in each of the following spring and summer semesters. Additional meetings will be called by the Chair, the RUO, or the Chair of the University Safety and Security Council. It will maintain a written record of its activities, and this report will be incorporated into the annual report of the University Safety and Security Council.

The term of office of Committee members shall be for three years, effective September 1 to August 31, and members may be reappointed by the President for additional terms. The Chair will be appointed to serve for a two-year term. Initial appointments shall be for staggered terms so that approximately equal numbers of terms expire each year. If a Committee member resigns, the President shall appoint another individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term.

#### **RESPONSIBLE PARTY**

• -

### LAST REVIEWED

• -

#### HISTORY

- Issued: 1992-08-17
- Revised: 1992-11-01
- Editorial Amendments: 1998-10-29
- Editorial Amendments: 2000-09-01
- Revised: 2002-05-16
- Editorial Amendments: 2006-01-09
- Editorial Amendments: 2007-01-11
- Editorial Amendments: 2010-09-01
- Editorial Amendments: 2012-03-07
- Editorial Amendments: 2018-01-22