UT Dallas Policy Navigator

Committee on Academic Integrity - UTDPP1012

Policy Charge

Academic Integrity Committee

Policy Statement

The Committee on Academic Integrity is a concurrent committee of the Academic Senate of The University of Texas at Dallas charged to provide analysis and guidance on policy and best practices in the area of academic integrity. The Committee shall provide policy recommendations to the Academic Senate and to the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students with regard to best practices for the prevention of, and disciplinary measures for, academic dishonesty.

The Committee shall consist initially of nine faculty members, including at least one member from each School, plus two students. The faculty committee members shall be nominated by the Committee on Committees. A representative of the library staff shall serve as a non-voting member. The President of the Student Government shall nominate the student members. The Dean of Libraries shall nominate the library representative. The Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, or designee, shall serve as the Responsible University Official (RUO).

The term of office of the faculty committee members shall be two years, effective September 1 to August 31, staggered in time to make approximately equal numbers of appointments expire each academic year. Members may be reappointed for additional terms. If for any reason a Committee member resigns, the President, upon nomination of the Academic Council, shall appoint another individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term. The Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed annually by the President from the faculty members of the Committee.

In collaboration with the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, the Committee shall collect and analyze statistics on violations of academic integrity, and shall report these statistics annually, but no later than August 31, to the Academic Senate.

Policy History

  • Issued: April 25, 2005
  • Editorial Amendments: June 29, 2006
  • Revised: November 11, 2008