UT Dallas Policy Navigator

Committee on the Core Curriculum - UTDPP1018

Policy Charge

Core Curriculum

Policy Statement

The Committee on the Core Curriculum is a Standing, Concurrent Committee of the Academic Senate regarding University-wide requirements for students seeking entrance to a baccalaureate degree from The University of Texas at Dallas.

The Committee is charged to evaluate and make recommendations to the Academic Senate regarding the University-wide General Education curriculum and its implications in terms of academic requirements for undergraduate admission and graduation, including transfer admission requirements. The Committee reviews and approves the suitability of particular U.T. Dallas courses that are submitted as designed to satisfy the University's core curriculum requirements. It may also review lower-division courses offered by other Texas public colleges and universities that students submit to substitute for U.T. Dallas core courses. The Committee also monitors changes in state law and rules of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to ensure that U.T. Dallas requirements are in compliance with statewide requirements for core curriculum.

The Committee on the Core Curriculum shall act as the originator and developer of proposals regarding the core curriculum, just as the Faculty of the various Programs and Schools act regarding their majors' curricula and prerequisites. In so doing, the Committee on the Core Curriculum shall seek advice from all interested parties in the University, and call timely hearings of the faculty concerned with the core curriculum.

By November 1, the Chair of the Committee will provide the Speaker of the Faculty with a copy of the agenda established by the Committee for its work during the academic year.

Annually, but no later than August 31, the Chair of the Committee will provide the Speaker of the Faculty with a written report for the Academic Senate of the Committeeā€™s activities for the prior academic year.

The Committee is composed of eight voting members appointed from the membership of the General Faculty (as defined in UTDPP1088). Committee membership will be distributed across all schools. The Chair of the Committee on Educational Policy shall serve ex officio as one of the voting members. The Dean of Undergraduate Education, the University Registrar and Director of Academic Records, and the Director of Undergraduate Advising serve as non-voting, ex officio members. Four non-voting members are degree-seeking undergraduates including one lower-division student and one upper-division transfer student. The Chair of the Committee serves ex officio, with vote, on the Committee on Educational Policy. The Dean of Undergraduate Education serves as the Responsible University Official.

Unless specified otherwise in this charge, Committee members are appointed to two-year terms, and the Chair and Vice Chair are appointed annually. The terms for appointed members shall be staggered so that no more than one-half of the terms expire in any one year. Members may be reappointed by the President for additional terms upon nomination of the Academic Council. If for any reason a Committee member resigns, the President, upon nomination of the Academic Council, shall appoint another individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term.

Policy History

  • Issued: April 4, 1995
  • Revised: September 1, 1998
  • Revised: June 3, 1999
  • Editorial Amendments: September 1, 2000
  • Revised: October 25, 2001
  • Editorial Amendments: November 22, 2002
  • Revised: October 19, 2004
  • Editorial Amendments: June 7, 2006
  • Editorial Amendments: May 28, 2015