UT Dallas Policy Navigator :: Committee for the Support of Diversity and Equity :: UTDPP1022 (v1)

Committee for the Support of Diversity and Equity - UTDPP1022

Policy Charge

Diversity and Equity

Policy Statement

The Committee for the Support of Diversity and Equity is a University-wide Standing Committee reporting directly to the President of The University of Texas at Dallas.

The Committee meets regularly (at least six times each academic year) to review and discuss issues that affect the institutional status, professional effectiveness and personal morale of women, minorities, and members of other underrepresented groups in full and part-time faculty and staff positions. To support its role in understanding and recommending policy with respect to these and related issues the Committee is empowered to carry out studies, conduct interviews and prepare reports. It meets with the President at the beginning and end of each academic year to receive special charges and reports from the administration and to convey to the administration ideas, concerns and advice from the Committee that address the issues of eliminating institutional features which differentially and negatively affect women, minorities, and members of other underrepresented groups. It is also within the purview of this Committee to recommend the creation and initiation of actions and policies which would support the professional careers of these same individuals.

The Committee shall consist of twelve faculty members (including members on the faculty of each of the Schools), three academic administrators and eight staff members representing the entire university community. The Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement shall serve as the Responsible University Official (RUO).

The term of office of the committee members shall be for two years, effective September 1 to August 31, staggered in time to make approximately equal numbers of appointments expire each academic year. The President may reappoint members for additional terms. If for any reason a Committee member resigns, the President shall appoint another individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term. The Chair and Vice Chair are appointed annually by the President.

Policy History

  • Issued: 1997-11-12
  • Editorial Amendments: 1998-02-02
  • Editorial Amendments: 2000-09-01
  • Revised: 2006-05-16
  • Revised: 2008-11-04
  • Editorial Amendments: 2015-05-28