UT Dallas Policy Navigator :: University Research Integrity Committee :: UTDPP1034 (v2)

University Research Integrity Committee - UTDPP1034

Policy Charge

Research Integrity

Policy Statement

The University Research Integrity Committee is a University-wide Standing Committee appointed by the President not reporting to the Academic Senate of The University of Texas at Dallas.

The Committee operates under National Science Foundation (NSF) "Investigator Financial Disclosure Policy" issued June 30, 1994 and effective June 28, 1995 and the Regents' Rules and Regulations in Rule 30104, concerning Conflict of Interest, and in Rule 30103, concerning Standards of Conduct, including the relevant federal and state statutes and relevant System policies, procedures, and forms provided in each rule (https://www.utsystem.edu/offices/board-regents/regents-rules-and-regulations).

The Committee on Research Integrity is charged to assure that integrity is maintained in all aspects of research endeavors and to assure that no financial interests of principal investigators and their immediate family members exist that may jeopardize the quality of the research undertaken.

The Committee is charged to perform the following duties:

  1. To encourage the creation and maintenance of a research climate that promotes faithful adherence to high ethical standards in the conduct of research without inhibiting the productivity and creativity of scientist or academician;
  2. To review and disseminate information to faculty on procedures for addressing misconduct in science and conflict of interest;
  3. To develop and maintain an appropriate written and enforced University policy on conflict of interest in accordance with NSF policies, NIH policies, and the Rules and Regulations of the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System; and,
  4. To develop and disseminate procedures for implementation, review and resolution of conflicts of interest disclosed by faculty or other members of the academic community who will serve as principal investigators on proposals submitted to the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health or other federally funded agencies.

The University Research Integrity Committee shall be composed of no more than eight tenured faculty members of the rank of Professor. The Dean of Graduate Studies and the Vice President for Research serve as ex officio, voting members. Except for the School of Interdisciplinary Studies, each school in the University shall be represented on the Committee. Each faculty member appointed shall exhibit high ethical standards. The term of appointment shall be for three years. Committee members may be reappointed by the President for additional terms. If for any reason a committee member resigns, the President shall appoint another qualified individual to serve the remainder of the unexpired term. The Vice President for Research shall serve as the Committee Chair with oversight of all committee activities. The Provost serves as the Responsible University Official.

All information concerning Committee activities, reports, and other related documents and approvals shall be housed in the Office of the Vice President for Research. The Vice President for Research shall be responsible for the submission of annual reports to appropriate government agencies and shall report to the President on such matters.

Policy History

  • Issued: 1995-09-01
  • Editorial Amendments: 1998-02-02
  • Editorial Amendments: 2000-09-01
  • Revised: 2002-05-09
  • Editorial Amendments: 2003-10-06
  • Editorial Amendments: 2006-06-29
  • Editorial Amendments: 2018-12-05