UT Dallas Policy Navigator :: University Sustainability Committee Charge :: UTDPP1078 (v4)

University Sustainability Committee Charge - UTDPP1078

Policy Charge

University Sustainability Committee

Policy Statement

The University Sustainability Committee is a university-wide, standing committee appointed by the President not reporting to the Academic Senate of The University of Texas at Dallas.


The mission of the Sustainability Committee is to cultivate a culture of environmental responsibility in which the entire UT Dallas community is aware of, engaged in and committed to advancing environmental awareness and sustainable practices through education, research, operations, and community service activities.


The committee is specifically charged to:

  1. Develop and prioritize an annual set of committee goals and planned actions to further promote and advance an institutional culture of sustainability
  2. Evaluate sustainability initiatives and projects based on a benefit versus life-cycle cost analysis
  3. Publicize and communicate current university sustainability initiatives to the university community
  4. Conduct and promote campus events, workshops, showcases, exhibits focused on enhancing sustainability efforts and practices to engage students, faculty and staff.
  5. Promote and encourage sustainability where appropriate as a key element of the curriculum
  6. Overall reduce UT Dallas' impact on the environment in the areas of energy, water, waste, buildings, transportation, purchasing, grounds, food and dining, academics and research and education and outreach.


The Committee shall have seven voting members appointed by the President as follows:

One Chair, who shall be a member of the tenured faculty, preferably someone actively concerned with sustainability as a research topic or with developing teaching methods or materials concerned with it.

Two additional faculty members, one from the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics or Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science or School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences; and one from School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences or Naveen Jindal School of Management or Bass School of Arts, Humanities and Technology (alternating) or School of Interdisciplinary Studies (alternating). The Chair and the faculty members shall be nominated by the Academic Senate and serve one-year alternating appointments.

Two Staff, one of which shall be the Director of Purchasing or designee and the other a representative of Staff. The latter shall be nominated by the Staff Council.

Two Student Members, one nominated by Student Government and one nominated by Graduate Student Assembly. One shall be at large, the other from a student group/club specifically devoted to sustainability initiatives on campus.

In addition, the following members shall be Ex-Officio and without vote: the Vice President for Facilities and Economic Development or designee, the Associate Vice President of Facilities Management, the Director of Sustainability, and the Associate Vice President of Communications.


The Committee will produce an annual report of accomplishments to the President with copies to the Academic Senate, the Vice President for Facilities and Economic Development, Facilities Management, Staff Council, Student Government, and Graduate Student Assembly for publication on their websites.

Policy History

  • Issued: 2010-10-21
  • Editorial Amendments: 2012-03-07
  • Editorial Amendments: 2019-02-19
  • Revised: 2021-05-02
  • Revised: 2024-06-03
  • Editorial Amendments: 2024-06-10