UT Dallas Policy Navigator :: International Education Development Committee :: UTDPP1107 (v4)

International Education Development Committee - UTDPP1107

Policy Charge

International Education Development Committee

Policy Statement

The International Education Development Committee (IEDC) is a university-wide standing committee appointed by the President.

The IEDC is dedicated to strengthening and to enriching the development of strategic international programs and institutional partnerships that contribute to UT Dallas’ mission. IEDC members include representatives from across campus, including faculty members, administrative leaders, and international education specialists. The committee meets once per month as necessary to review and to discuss strategic issues of UT Dallas internationalization, including the feasibility of proposed international programs and international partnerships.

Programs and partnerships under the purview of this committee include, but are not limited to: education-abroad programs, faculty-led international programs, reciprocal student exchange agreements, affiliation agreements, degree program agreements, dual degree program agreements (undergraduate and graduate), and Cotutelle agreements.

The Committee:

  1. Establishes guidelines and processes, suggests policy recommendations to the Council for Undergraduate Education/Council on Graduate Education, as appropriate, and The Committee on Educational Policy and proposes institutional structures to support a holistic, strategic approach to international programs and partnerships.
  2. Evaluates the design and implementation of international programs and partnerships to support alignment with established institutional criteria, professional standards, best practices, and institutional mission.
  3. Reviews new international program and partnership proposals and makes recommendations to the Provost and President for final approval.

The Committee will be composed of the following members appointed by the President: four faculty, nominated by the Committee on Committees for two-year staggered terms. Faculty will serve as voting members regarding all matters.

Ex-officio members serving as voting members regarding policy recommendations and partnership agreements include the Dean of Undergraduate Education, the Dean of Graduate Education, a designee from the Hobson Wildenthal Honors College, the Vice President for Research or designee, the Director of International Students and Scholars, the Assistant Director of International Risk and Safety, the SACSCOC Liaison, a graduate student representative nominated by Graduate Student Assembly, and an undergraduate student representative nominated by Student Government.

Ex-officio members serving as voting members regarding policy recommendations only include the Senior Director of Enrollment Management or designee, the University Registrar or designee, the Director of International Education.

Every two years the Deans of Graduate and Undergraduate Education will alternate the roles of committee chair and vice-chair. The International Center will provide ongoing administrative support to the IEDC committee.

The Provost will serve as the Responsible University Official for this committee.

Policy History

  • Issued: 2017-09-12
  • Editorial Amendments: 2018-12-05
  • Revised: 2019-08-01
  • Revised: 2021-03-24